December Workshop: Careers Cafe

On this workshop we were privileged with the presence of five ex-Bangor students presenting what happened on their careers since they left the University.

The first to speak was Dr Ross Piper, a Zoologist who now is author and TV presenter. He first graduate in Bangor University and went on to a PhD in insect ecology at Leeds University. Like me, Ross was not sure about what to do after graduating. The only thing he knew was his passion for Zoology (which I thought very clear, by listening to this talk). I particularly liked his talk most because he could transmit us the idea that if we have an interest on something, we have to pursued whatever it takes. After he aring his talk, I got curious and interesting on watching him in Wild Burma Natures Lost Kingdom. I really liked, even though I am not a Zoology student, and I don’t have interesting on following the academic career, because inspires me seeing people who really loves their jobs and do it with passion and enthusiasm. In this link you can see an interesting video of Ross presenting Wild Burma: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jE_JbmsSU8w

Ross Piper fillming in Burma. (thecomet.net)

 

After we heard Cherry Shacklady who is now a head of Biology in Friars School. Cherry studied Molecular Biology at Bangor and realised she wanted to be a teacher after helping students. We could see, as long as she described her career that we need to have enthusiasmand do researches about the job we intent to apply.

We next heard about Nia Jones who graduated in Zoology with marine biology in 2003 and now works as a marine conservation officer at the North Wales Wild Life Trust. Likely most of the students who are graduating, she didn’t know what to do so she went on a master degree in Ecology in which she get involved in volunteer work. I found her talk quite interesting because I really want to volunteer this year, during my studies abroad, because I do believe by volunteering we not only help on the work itself but we also learn how to deal with people, sense of responsibility, and care for the others. Besides that, at the level of recognition, I think that volunteering is much more well seen when compared to paid jobs while graduating.  Nia also advised us to give our best in any work, volunteering or not.

Naomi Willis graduated in Chemistry at Bangor University and went on to a PhD in Biology. Now she works as a healthy care scientist at Welsh Water. In her talk, she told us about the importance of getting into a graduate scheme to grow as professional.

Last to speak was Imogen German who graduated in Biology in 2007. In all the talks, I identified myself more with hers. More because of, like me, I could see that she likes to travel and learn from different countries. Now she is teaching at the Uni and doing a PhD. Her advise for us was to not lose enthusiasm while looking for job and build a career.

I found this workshop really interesting because one of the best ways to learn is to listen to advises given from people who have more experience than us. Also, I could learn more about the opportunities that students have here in the UK which is quite different from the opportunities we have in Brazil. I am looking forward to put in practise what I am learning here.

Leave a comment